RSS

Commitment to a Blog

24 Mar

Image
I have never, personally, been happy with Twitter, Facebook, MySpace, or any other mass blogging service; but it isn’t really anyone’s fault but my own. There is a part of me that longs for the days of the typewriter and snail mail, and covets the feel of old paper. It is forever in conflict with another part of me, which ambitiously awaits three dimensional video; enjoys the gradual meld between print, film, and interactive press; and is addicted to the pounding beats of underground Electronica. Neither is right, and neither is an island, each feeding off of the other for inspiration and grounding in my own hodgepodge tribal roots.

Committing to a blog is both an essential part of being a writer, and an acceptance that the only way for these two to get along, to live in peace, is for them to work together in the greater context of my ever-changing environment. I would appreciate the creation of a firm piece of legal with the set ink and indentation of a printed journal, but everyone reading this, like myself, knows that the web is an integral and alive part of our world. It isn’t just to be celebrated, it is to be embraced; to do otherwise is to go the way of the dinosaur, and reluctant as I may have been, I have always known this.

You can’t build a future without first wrapping your arms and head around the present. To stand against it is like a stone standing against a river. It might stand in it, unmoved and immobile, but in time, the water will wear at it until it reduces, erodes, and one way or another, conforms. I don’t like to think of myself as a stone, I certainly don’t feel eroded, but I do like the concept of conformation and I love a little resistance from time to time.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 24, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
